Board and staff

Our Board is made up of members elected from across our network.

2018-2019 Board

Board Chair

Allan Northcott
President, Max Bell Foundation, Calgary


Patty Faith
Executive Director, Medavie Health Foundation, Dartmouth

Past Chair

Laura J. Manning
Executive Director, Lyle S. Hallman Foundation, Kitchener


Grace Laing Hogg
Secretary, The George Hogg Family Foundation, Montréal


Claude Pinard
Executive Director, Mirella and Lino Saputo Foundation, Montréal


Thomas Chanzy
Head of Communications, Global Corporate Citizenship, TD Bank Group, Toronto


Michelle Gagnon
President and CEO, Palix Foundation, Calgary


Mike Flynn
Past Chair, The Catherine Donnelly Foundation, Toronto


Llewellyn Smith
President, The Helderleigh Foundation, Toronto


Collette Murphy
Executive Director, Atkinson Foundation, Toronto


Simon Mallett
Executive Director, Rozsa Foundation, Calgary


Rachel Renaud
President, Roasters Foundation, Montréal


James Temple
Chief Corporate Responsibility Officer, PwC Canada, Toronto


Hilary Pearson

President & CEO

Hilary Pearson is President of Philanthropic Foundations Canada, a national network of family, independent and corporate grantmakers in Canada which includes many of the largest private charitable foundations in the country. Since 2001, when she was appointed President, she has grown the organization to become a leading voice in Canadian organized philanthropy.  Prior to joining PFC, Ms Pearson held senior positions in central agencies of the Government of Canada from 1981 to 1993. She was Vice-President at Royal Bank of Canada from 1993 to 1996 and a senior strategy consultant at the Montreal consulting firm Secor from 1993 to 2001. An expert in nonprofit governance, Ms. Pearson has served on several national boards of directors, including those of Pearson College of the Pacific, Imagine Canada, the Stratford Shakespeare Festival of Canada, CARE Canada and Indspire. She chairs the Advisory Body of the Coady Institute at St Francis Xavier University and is a member of the Advisory Committee to the Masters Program in Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership at Carleton University. She holds a BA and MA from the University of Toronto, and honourary doctorates from Carleton University and the University of New Brunswick. She was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in 2018.

Liza Goulet

Liza Goulet

Director Member Services


Inès Chaâlala

Manager, Learning and Knowledge Mobilization

Jennifer-Lee Thomas

Jennifer-Lee Thomas

Director Communications