PFC Webinar: Charities and Non-Charities: Better Together 

Wednesday, February 24th, 2016

1:00 – 2:00pm MT / 3:00 – 4:00pm ET

The Federal Income Tax Act states that charitable foundations can only grant to other charities, or qualified donees. But sometimes a foundation wants to work with non-charities or to provide funding for work in the community through an agent who is not a registered charity. In this case, what are the rules and how do you work within them?

In 2015, the Burns Memorial Fund based in Calgary published a handbook,  Better Together: A Guide for Charity/Non-Charity Partnerships.  Together with other Alberta-based partner organizations, Burns wanted to provide examples of how charity/ non-charity partnerships can be used to maximize community benefit.

During this webinar, Michelle Clarke, Executive Director of the Burns Memorial Fund, will give some context to the work that led to this handbook. Laird Hunter, an Edmonton-based charity and non-profit lawyer, will provide legal expertise on the elements to consider when embarking on such a partnership.  The other members of the Better Together group, including The Calgary Foundation and The United Way of Calgary, will be on hand to answer questions or provide additional perspective.

Join us on February 24th at 1:00pm MT (3:00pm ET) to discuss the ins and outs of charity/non-charity partnerships. Please feel free to send your questions on working with non-qualified donees ahead of time to spinchevsky@pfc.ca so that they can be addressed during the webinar.

Non-members must pay a fee in order to confirm their registration.

Register Online